top of page

Slave Trade Must Stop!


On November 15th of 2017 a lot of us became aware of the slave auction happening in Libya.

It hurts my soul as I’m sure it does the rest of you, that in this day and age this method of slavery is still being carried out.

Let’s be clear, Slavery never went away. Slavery still happens today, in what we call modern slavery, but there is something about seeing people who look like me, and are from the same country as me, are being oppressed in this nature. I mean really, all we have seen are people being sold but what about the realities they face, where do they end up?, how are they being treated?.

Are we awake?, do we see the reality. It seems the late realisation of the truth happened because a lot of us don’t feel closely connected to the situation, but if left alone the problem will spread.

Over the last week I have heard of countries such as Nigeria, bringing people back home, but the issue stilll remains with the people who haven’t managed to escape and who are currently living in that hell.

Awareness is the only way we can tackle the problem, do not ignore it, acknowledge it and help change.

Teniola Opara

Aspiring Academic

Follow my Twitter & Instagram: @Blogundergrad

bottom of page