top of page

Believe in your Journey!

This story begins in 2011, GCSE results day. That morning my mum wished me luck, and i made my way to school. I dont remember much of that journey, but i do remember getting to the school gates, and feeling like the rupture was about to occur, and truthfully i wanted the ground to swallow me up.

I walked into the hall, collected my results and opened them. I received in total 8 GCSES B-C. it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. The next step was to go to the college of your choice, present your results and get a place, sounds simple right? well that's where my nightmare began.

The college didn't accept me in the end to study A-levels but instead recommended i studied a BTEC. Now i must say i was not impressed, in fact i was so angry with myself, i felt like a failure.Despite all of my feelings, i started the path to get my Business Level 3 Extended Diploma and received a Triple Merit. A lot went on during the time i was in college but that story is definitely for another day.

In September 2013 i started my course to study Law. Many people doubted my journey, and tried to discourage me, and my first year displayed that maybe i believed i would fail, so i didn't try as much. i failed, and had to restart the year.

that was really a kick in the heart, it was so hard to get over, i cried every single day, buttt... i continued and here i am.

a Graduate in Law, doing a Masters in law. i proved the naysayers wrong.

Despite my path i ended up where i have always needed to be. my opportunities are now endless, and the different career avenues i have, are laid out in front of me.

Despite your journey or your path, with faith, perseverance and hard work you will end up where you need to be., when YOU need to be there.

“Whatever is bringing you down, get rid of it. Because you’ll find that when you’re free . . . your true self comes out.” — Tina Turner

Teniola Opara

Aspiring Academic

Twitter & Instagram: @BlogUndergrad

bottom of page